Skip to content
21/08/2010 / Hackett

My Favorite Android Apps

Now Playing: Stone Sour – Come What(ever) May

It’s odd to think that up until a few months ago I had never even owned a smartphone, seeing as I’m pretty much addicted to the one I have now.  Thanks for asking, when I took the plunge into the world of the constantly connected, I joined Team Android, and went with Motorola’s Droid and the thing is almost literally become a third limb.  Whether texting, tweeting, emailing, blogging, or sometimes actually making a phone call, it seems I’m using it non-stop, and I know I’m not alone here.  

Getting started however, was slow, it wasn’t easy to navigate the ever-expanding apps market, and thanks to all my friends on Facebook and Twitter, I got some suggestions directing me to some of the more fun and useful ones out there.  I thought I’d return the favor to the good people who read my blog and detail some of the Android-based apps I enjoy the most.   (They will all be free apps, an added bonus!)

White Sox Fish Eye

The White Sox game through a Fish Eye

 

 FX Camera – An outstanding camera app that has really cool filters such as the Warhol filter, a Symmetricam (mirrors the image in the picture), and the FishEye lens (see right).  It also allows sharing the photos directly to Twitter, Facebook, and via email and text message. 

twicca – This is my favorite Twitter app by far.  It’s easy to use, has a link shortener, has easy access to lists, allows for native RT’s and ones with comments.  It hardly ever force-closes, shows follower/follow relationship when on a specific users page.  I can’t say enough about twicca, it’s in the Android market as twiccaBETA, I believe.

Droid Light – A great flashlight app that usually comes pre-installed on most Android phones.  It uses the LED flash as a light, and is incredibly bright and useful.

WordPress – I love the WordPress app for Android, it makes managing my blog on the go so easy.  I no longer have to wait until I’m at a computer to approve or respond to comments, and I can even write a blog post from my phone!  (I can also check my hits/stats with it, something I’m a little embarrassed to say I do all too often.)

RedBox Codes – This app has codes that allow you to rent movies from RedBox kiosk locations for free!  Most of them are verified and work almost 100% of the time.  A must have for movie fans.

Bump – The Bump app allows users to transfer apps, files, photos, and more just by “bumping” your phones together.  Much quicker and easier than sending them via MMS or email.

Buzz Feed – Your one-stop shop for all of the latest viral videos, links and stories making their rounds on the web.  Allows sharing directly via Twitter, Facebook, and email.  Be the first on your block to share the hottest links.

Gesture

Example of a Gesture Search

 

 

 

Gesture Search – Access your contacts, files, and apps just by writing the first letter with your finger!  Allows you to open an app, make a phone call, or text a contact directly from the app.  So easy to use, and always reliable.

 

 

 

 

 

Shazam – Don’t know the name of the song playing on the radio or on your favorite T.V. show?  Just open the Shazam app and it will tell you, along with giving you a link to purchase the music if you desire. 

Hoptopia – Just released, the Hoptopia app has reviews on scores of craft beers, and is a must have for any beer aficionado.  It’s got a great look, and it’s really easy to use.

TV.com – Has full episodes of many television favorites, such as NCIS, CSI:, Big Brother, Star Trek, The Big C, as well as tons of product reviews from cnet. 

Advanced Task Killer – Really helps manage bettery life by “killing” apps that are not needed.  Completely necessary.

 

 

Layar

Layar Reality App visual. So cool.

 

Layar Reality Browser – A fun augmented reality app which uses your camera and inserts locations on top of the browser on your screen.  Hard to explain, but it’s really a fun one!

I hope I’ve guided you towards some useful and fun apps, I know I’ve really enjoyed using them.  I’d also like to hear some of your favorites that I haven’t included here.  I haven’t included any games, mostly because I haven’t found any good ones yet.  So, let the suggestions fly!  Thanks for reading, and I look forward to hearing from you!

” No one ever tells you / That forever feels like home / sitting all alone inside your head”

-Hackett

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Joleen Wesley / Aug 31 2010 03:19

    This a fabulous post and may be one that should be followed up to see how things go

    A close friend e-mailed this link the other day and I’m excitedly waiting your next post. Continue on the terrific work.

  2. Buddy Fischbein / Sep 1 2010 13:56

    Stumbled on your blog via yahoo the other day and absolutely find it irresistible. Continue the truly amazing work.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention My Favorite Android Apps « Hackett's Racket -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

