Skip to content
05/01/2011 / Hackett

My Hockey Psychosis

Now Playing: Girl Talk – All Day

In advance of tonight’s Dallas Stars visit to the United Center to face the Blackhawks, I’d like to share with you a glimpse into the depths of my hockey psychosis.  It seems that it enters, albeit in very strange ways, into my subconscious.

Now, I’ve been having some very strange dreams lately, and while some of them have been more of the disturbing variety, this one was just too funny to share.  Now many of you that find your way here are familiar with hockey, at least with the Blackhawks, and know that Jonathan Toews and Duncan Keith were among the only six players selected to the 2011 NHL All Star Game. (The rest of the players will be…know what, I’ll go through that in a different post.)  So there’s a chance that Toews will be one of the two captains this year.  That immediately got me thinking about how sweet a #19 All Star jersey with the C on it would be.  I’m going to assume that this was also part of the genesis for this strange stream of sub consciousness. 

In this particular dream, I was on Ice Jerseys (a one-stop shop for all things hockey on the web) selecting my brand-new sweater.  For some strange reason, the post-Christmas deal was buy one Hawks jersey, and get two free Stars jerseys.  As I’m kind of a fan of the Stars (great young team, Loui Eriksson and Jamie Benn are going to be REAL good, Team USA Juniors goaltender Jack Campbell in their system…) I didn’t mind so much, especially as it came with free customization.

Now, I don’t remember the customization part of the dream, but fast forward to the jerseys arriving, and I had assumed I picked Eriksson, Benn, or even former Blackhawk Adam Burish.  Imagine to my surprise and complete DERRRRP-face when I unwrapped them and the back of not, but BOTH read Stempniak.  Yes, as in Lee Stempniak of the St. Louis Blues, Toronto Maple Leafs and Phoenix Coyotes.  Yeahhhhhh, I have NO clue.  But I thought this was humorous enough to share with you all.

That’s all I got. ‘Til next time kids, peace out.

LET’S GO HAWKS!!!

-Hackett

Leave a Reply

